Shattered Glass

You are standing against the glass with your child, the one who holds your heart.  On the other side of the glass is the most terrifying creature.  If you were to imagine the most horrifying, starving, murderous animal that would haunt your nightmares, what would it be?   Now imagine the glass shattering.  What would your first instincts be?   To blame the faulty glass?  To run? To sacrifice yourself by throwing yourself in front of your child?  To freeze unable to move?  To trust, no matter the circumstance, no matter the heartbreak, no matter the potential loss?

A strange thought, I know.  But what if I told you to pray for the glass to be shattered in your life?  What if I told you to risk everything and everyone you hold dear?  Crazy.  Madness.  Foolish.

Okay, an explanation is due.  This is my challenge for us both.  Think of the one thing, person, idea, possibility that matters most to you.  Go ahead, give it a shot.  Now offer it to the Lord.  Let him shatter the glass wall of perfection and safety that you have neatly placed in front of the danger of the unseen.  And trust.

Do you know that even if the evil in this world attacks the thing you love most, the Lord is still good?  I feel a fool to say that the thing I hold most dear to myself right now is the idea of having a family.  I want to get married.  I want to have children.  More than anything else.  But I have to trust the Lord.  My Isaac is a possibility, a hope, a desire.

What happens if I let go?  If I let the glass shatter, completely ruining my protection that I have placed around that one person, that one relationship, that one thing, that one dream, that one desire, that one hope?  Then maybe my eyes would be open to the Lord’s angels armies surrounding me and all I hold dear.

The more I risk, the more I trust, the more I can see in the world of the unseen. 

So Abraham called that place The Lord Will Provide.  And to this day it is said, “On the mountain of the Lord it will be provided.”  Genesis 22:14

Aside

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. radaractive aka Kimbal
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 19:05:51

    Kaity,

    I have been called to blog on Creation versus Evolution and for many years now have followed the call. Every call has come at a crossroads. I was called to salvation just when I became lead singer in a rock band. I chose Christ. I was called to leave an unbiblical ministry just when I was offered a promotion. I chose to follow Christ. I was offered a paying job writing for a sports team rather than to blog for Jesus. I chose Jesus. I was offered adultery after my marriage was torn asunder but I determined to remain faithful to Christ. God sent me Debbie who is the love of my life. Every road it seems I took the road less traveled by as Robert Frost said, and it has indeed made all the difference! I cannot take credit for this, it was the power of God in me that helped me choose the right path. Without the Holy Spirit guiding me I would always tend to go the wrong way.

    You have a way with words that connects with people at a deeper level. Being so transparent will have an impact in time. I will put your blog on my links list and may God bless your quest to follow Him on your own road! Kimbal

    Reply

  2. TiHa
    Dec 24, 2011 @ 23:18:15

    Needed this today sister! Trust is the word that keeps coming up in this next season… And my Isaac–as you know– is my future. So I’ll pray shattered glass over your Isaac if you pray the same for me– for trust and surrender. Love you tons,
    Your other half of 2011…and longer.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

